Voting for the Speaker of Parliament is underway at Kololo Independence grounds to replace Jacob Oulanyah who died on March 20, 2022 in Seattle.

Ruling political party National Resistance Movement candidate Annet Anita Among (Bukedea District Woman MP) is facing off with Bugiri Municipality MP Asuman Basalirwa (JEEMA) who is the official candidate for the opposition.

Annet Anita Among accepting her nomination for the office of the Speaker at Kololo on Friday.

President Yoweri Museveni is in presence and Chief Justice Owiny-Dollo is presiding over the exercise.

President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni and Chief Justice Owiny-Dollo arriving at Kololo Independence grounds.

Among who is also the outgoing Deputy Speaker of Parliament, was nominated by Prime Minister Robinah Nabbanja and seconded by Ajuri County MP Hanson Obua who is also the State Minister for Sports.

Rt Hon Robinah Nabbanja consulting her candidate Annet Anita Among before nominating her.

“With great honour and humility, I accept the nomination and I am ready to serve the nation,” Annet Anita Among consented to her nomination.

In a statement on the qualification of Among, Nabbanja said: “She is a tested leader.”

Rt Hon Robinah Nabbanja making a brief statement on her nominee Annet Anita Among.

Basalirwa was nominated by the Leader of Opposition in Parliament, Mathias Mpuuga and seconded by Nakawa West MP Joel Ssenyonyi.

Hon Mathias Mpuuga nominating Hon Asuman Basalirwa

“I have the honour to present to you Hon Basalirwa Asuman to be elected as Speaker to replace the fallen giant, Rt Hon Jacob Oulanyah,” Mpuuga said while presenting Basalirwa.

Basalirwa applauding the house for nominating him.

“He is well versed with the Rules of Procedure, having served for many years in the Rules and Privileges Committee and Legal Committee,” he added.

Prior to voting Kampala Woman MP Shamim Malende sought to know from the Presiding officer whether it was procedurely right for Parliament to vote while colleague MPs Allan Ssewanyana and Muhammad Ssegirinya are on remand.

On this, Owiny-Dollo responded that proceedings can go on as long as there is quorum.

Meanwhile, the Chief Justice Alfonse Owiny-Dollo reminded the House that Ex-offico MPs are not entitled to vote in accordance with Article 78 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda.

“… Article 78 of the Constitution says that the Vice President and Ministers, who, if not already elected
members of Parliament, shall be ex-officio members of
Parliament without the right to vote on any issue requiring a vote
in Parliament,” read the Chief Justice.

Names of the MPs are being read following alphabetic order. Every MPs who is read is given a ballot to got and secretly cast his vote.

Some MPs including Joseph Ssewungu had earlier claimed that one of President Yoweri Museveni’s car which was in the vicinity contained cameras that would see how they were voting. Ssewungu pleaded with the Chief Justice to ask the President to order for its removal but his efforts hit a dead end.

The ruling NRM Party boosts the highest number of MPs in the Eleven Parliament totaling 336 MPs against the Opposition’s 109 MPs.

All the past Speakers of Parliament and their deputies have been candidates endorsed by the ruling party.

Kungu Al-Mahadi Adam is an experienced Ugandan multimedia Journalist with a background of fact checking and thorough research. He is very passionate about current African affairs particularly Horn of Africa. He...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *