Kabale district councillors have unanimously approved the coding and takeover of eight primary schools by the Ministry of Education and Sports.  

The schools are St Stephens Mwendo, St Jude Hamuganda in Mwendo parish, Kitumba sub-county, Kyabona Primary School in Kamuganguzi sub-county, Nyakijumba Primary School in Kyanamira sub-county, Butenga Primary School in Rubaya sub-county, Karubanda Primary School, and Buturwagye in Buhara sub-county and Nyakasharara in Kaharo sub-county.  

The primary schools have been previously managed privately by foundation bodies which include the Protestant and Catholic churches. The motion for their takeover was presented by Lydia Turyasingura, the Chairperson of the Education Committee during the council session sitting at Kabale District  Council hall on Thursday.

It was seconded by Annet Kabagambe, the councillor representing Buhara sub-county, and Peace Murungi Rutarimara, the councillor representing the Kamuganguzi sub-county.  All councillors supported the motion with a view that it would improve education service delivery in the area 

Ronald Bagamuhunda, the district youth councillor says that the councillors realized that the eight schools have been acting as annexes to other government primary schools, yet they were in a sorry state due to lack of funding. He added that the learners were also not following the school calendar appropriately because whenever the churches have functions, the pupils suspend learning.

Saturday Goerge Kakwenza, the district workers representative says many pupils have been walking up to eight kilometres from Hamuganda parish to Katenga Primary School in Kitumba sub-county to find good schools.

Kabale District Speaker Flavia Nyinakiiza Kanagyizi says that now that the resolution has been approved, a request will be tabled before the Education and Sports Ministry for scrutiny.

Kabale District Education Officer Moses Bwengye Tumwijukye welcomed the motion saying that it will boost the education services in Kabale. Tumwijukye says that once the Ministry approves the resolution the number of government primary schools in the district will increase from 113 to 121. 

Tumwijukye says that the council has approved the schools upon a conviction that they have enough land for future expansion. He adds that once the Ministry of Education and Sports approves the resolution, the schools will then qualify for a capitation grant

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *