The newly appointed manager of Manchester United ,Erik ten Hag

Manchester United has on April 21 officially confirmed the appointment of of Erik ten Hag as new manager after completing and signing the agreement with Ajax to replace Ralf Ragnick at the end of this season .

The former Ajax Football Club manager has signed a contract until June 2025 plus option until June 2026.

The new manager has been top of the Man U board list for months with some of his rivals like Mauricio Pochettino who once managed clubs like Tottenham Hotspurs .He also wanted the club as priority even when two German clubs approached him.He asked for a long term contract to have eneough time to build the Red Devils in all areas.

While Ajax ,Hag won two tropies at Eredivisie,Dutch Cup and one at Dutch Super Cup , led Ajax to a heroic run to the Champions League Semi Finals in 2018/19.He also had a 79% win rate at Ajax.

In Ragnick’s statement this week says the team needs up to 10 new players for the club’s impending rebuild after the humiliating 4-0 thrash at Liverpool on Tuesday April 19.

Hag as pledged to develop Manchester United as a capable team to deliver the success it deserves

“I know the history of this great club and the passion of the fans ,and I am absolutely determined to develop a team capable of delivering the success they deserve,” says Hag

Erik ten Hag is set to get 200 m pounds to spend on signings at Old Trafford this summer since about 12 players are expected to leave the club.

The new manager has been praised by fellow managers like Pep Guardiola ,the Manchester City manager who described Hag as an incredible person, a few weeks ago in an interview.

Erik ten Hag is a Netherlands national born February 2 1970 and Dutch professional football manager and former player, who is the head coach of Eredivisie club Ajax. 

Its been a long way for the club to get a permanent manager since 2013 when the then longest serving manager of the club ,Sir Alex Ferguson resigned.The club went through managers like David Moyes ,Louis Van Gaal ,Jose Mourinho,Ole Gunnar Solskjaer and the latest being Ralf Ragnick.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *