14 teams have lined up to take part in the event which will also act as a World Cup and Commonwealth Games qualifier.

Foreign teams that will take part in the Africa Rugby Sevens tournament have started arriving with just two days to kick-off at the Kyadondo Rugby Grounds in Kampala.  

Speaking to our sources, Philip kiboijana, the chairman organizing committee confirmed that several teams have already checked in, including Burkina Faso, Ghana, Senegal and Mauritius among others.

He however revealed that the temporary closure of the Entebbe International Airport on Wednesday delayed the arrival of some teams although he believes by Friday, all foreign teams will be in Uganda.

The top two teams in the tournament will join Kenya for a slot at he Commonwealth Games scheduled for July in Birmingham, while the top three teams will qualify for the World Cup 7s to take place in South Africa later this year. 

Uganda will open their campaign Burundi on Saturday, before Kenya takes on Senegal. Kiboijana also revealed that the organizers have been working tirelessly together with Police to ensure security and safety at the venue.

The 14 teams that will take part include; Uganda, Burundi, Kenya, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Burkina Faso, Madagascar, Botswana, Namibia, Ghana, Zambia, Cameroon, Tunisia and Mauritius.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *