As the Parliamentary Caucus of the ruling political party, National Resistance Movement (NRM) convenes today to endorse party’s flagbear for the position of Speaker of Parliament, the party’s Electoral Commission has also called for expression of interest in the position of Deputy Speaker.

Dr Tanga Odoi, the NRM EC Chairperson in his letter to Thomas Tayebwa the government chief whip, says expression of interest in the position of the Deputy Speaker will be done today Thursday.

“I wrote to inform your office that the NRM Electoral Commission will call for expression of interest for position of Deputy Speaker today March 24, 2022, immediately after the Caucus has endorsed the flagbear for speaker,” writes Odoi.

“The Commission requests that all Honourable Members interested should prepare and present their letters of expression of interest to the Chairperson of the NRM Electoral Commission at Kololo Independence grounds today March 24, 2022”

“Further details on the process will be issues at Kololo Independence grounds after the endorsement of the NRM flagbear for Speaker,” he adds.

Ruhinda North MP Thomas Tayebwa who is also the Caucus Chairperson, Kitgum District Woman Member of Parliament Dr Lilian Aber are among those who expressed readiness in standing for the position.

The party’s Central Executive Committee (CEC) on Wednesday endorsed Bukedea Woman MP, Anita Among for the position of Speaker.

Among has been serving as Deputy Speaker of Parliament under Jacob Oulanyah who died on Sunday from a hospital in Seattle USA, where he had been taken for specialized treatment last month.

At the time of his death, Oulanyah had presided over parliament business for 9 months and 24 days since his election to the position on 24th May 2021.

On Tuesday, 13 NRM MPs expressed interest in the seat after the death of the Omoro County MP.

They included Deputy Attorney General Jackson Kafuuzi, Minister of State for Defence, Jacob Oboth Oboth, Jackson Atima Lee Buti, Arua Central MP, Tororo Woman MP, Sarah Opendi, and others.

Others are Dokolo South MP, Felix Okot Ogongo, Lwemiyaga County MP Theodore Ssekikubo, Kagoma North MP Kintu Brandon, Minister of Health Jane Ruth Aceng, Minister of State for Sports, Hamson Obua, Florence Asiimwe, the Masindi Woman MP, John Amos Okot, the Agago North MP and Pius Wakabi, the Bugahya County MP.

Article 82 (4) of the Constitution provides that no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election of Speaker at any time that office is vacant and based on this, Cabinet on Monday set March 25th as the date for the election of a new speaker of Parliament.

This prompted the ruling NRM party and the Opposition in Parliament to embark on a process to endorse a candidate for the election.

Her name is now further being discussed in the ongoing NRM Parliamentary Caucus at Kololo Independence grounds.

After being endorsed by Caucus, the party will now announce further arrangements for getting the Deputy Speaker, a position Among has been occupying.

The ruling NRM Party boosts the highest number of MPs in the Eleven Parliament totaling 336 MPs against the Opposition’s 109 MPs.

All the past Speakers of Parliament and their deputies have been candidates endorsed by the ruling party.

Kungu Al-Mahadi Adam is an experienced Ugandan multimedia Journalist with a background of fact checking and thorough research. He is very passionate about current African affairs particularly Horn of Africa. He...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *