By Constance Ichuma Asere

Opposition Members of Parliament have Thursday selected Okot Bitek ,the Kyoga North MP from Forum for Democratic Change Party to compete for the position of Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

The MPs are convening in Kampala to choose a flagbear for Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Meanwhile, Ruhinda North MP, Thomas Tayebwa is the flagbear of the ruling political party National Resistance Movement (NRM) after being unanimously endorsed by the party’s Parliamentary Caucus on Thursday.

The Caucus which is sitting at Kololo Independence grounds had earlier endorsed Annet Anita Among for the position of Speaker.

Minutes after his endorsement, Tayebwa took to Twitter to express gratitude to the MPs “for endorsing me unopposed for Deputy Speaker on NRM ticket.”

CEC on Wednesday endorsed Bukedea Woman MP, Anita Among for the position of Speaker.

Among has been serving as Deputy Speaker of Parliament under Jacob Oulanyah who died on Sunday from a hospital in Seattle USA, where he had been taken for specialized treatment last month.

At the time of his death, Oulanyah had presided over parliament business for 9 months and 24 days since his election to the position on 24th May 2021.

Article 82 (4) of the Constitution provides that no business shall be transacted in Parliament other than an election of Speaker at any time that office is vacant and based on this, Cabinet on Monday set March 25th as the date for the election of a new speaker of Parliament.

This prompted the ruling NRM party and the Opposition in Parliament to embark on a process to endorse a candidate for the election.

The opposition has Thursday afternoon fronted Bugiri Municipality MP, Asuman Basalirwa for the position of Speaker of Parliament. It is not clear whether some other MPs will offer themselves as independent for selection.

The ruling NRM Party boosts the highest number of MPs in the Eleven Parliament totaling 336 MPs against the Opposition’s 109 MPs.

All the past Speakers of Parliament and their deputies have been candidates endorsed by the ruling party.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *