The new Board of Directors of Uganda Airlines Company Limited has been inaugurated.

The seven-member team was initiated after taking the oath of allegiance at Hotel Africana in Kampala on Friday. They include; Priscilla Mirembe Serukka (Chairperson), Samson Rwahwire, Herbert Kamuntu, Patrick Ocailap, Barbara Namugambe, Abdi Karim Moding, and Ebrahim Kisoro Sadrudin.

Their installation ends the 10-months of rigorous search led by the Ministry of Works, Transport and Communication, together with the Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development. Each of the two Ministries holds 50 % shares in the airline.

The new board which was approved by Cabinet last month replaces an embattled board led by Perez Ahabwe that was terminated in May 2021 by President Yoweri Museveni following corruption allegations, mismanagement and in-fights.

Gen Edward Katumba Wamala, the Works and Transport Minister implored the new board to ensure the sustainability of the Airline through compliance, and strategic business expansion plans in both short and long-range aircraft.

The State Minister for FinanceĀ  Henry Musasizi also warned the new team against overstepping their mandate but rather focus more on effective management with the aim of making a profit for the national flag carrier.

In her maiden speech, Priscilla Mirembe Serukka, the Chairperson of the new board pledged to guide the Airline in fulfilling its corporate mission, translate its vision into reality, give strategic direction to management and protect the company assets through transparency and accountability.

Mirembe who is an accomplished senior-level NGO sector management expert in good corporate governance will lead the team for a three-year-long tenancy. She is an alumnus of Gayaza High School (1977-1983) and holds a degree in Agriculture Economics from Makerere University, and Masters in Management Studies from Uganda Management Institute.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *