Uganda and African Union (AU) candidate, Brenda Akia has been elected to the UN Committee on Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in a hotly contested election held at the UN headquarters New York.

Akia was elected to fill one of the 12 vacant positions, to serve for three years from 2023 to 2026.

CEDAW is the body of independent experts that monitors implementation of the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.

The CEDAW Committee consists of 23 experts on women’s rights from around the world.

Akia scored 139 votes out of 187 votes and ranking 2 among the 12 winners. Only 94 votes were needed to be elected to the position. Cuba took the first position with 143 votes.

“I am thankful to CEDAW Member States for electing me as Uganda’s first candidate to the UN CEDAW Committee,” Akia said shortly after her election. “Thank you Adonia Ayebare (Uganda’s Permanent Representative at the UN) for making this possible. The real work begins to advance the respect of women’s rights abd promote gender equality,” she added.

On his part, Ambassador Ayebare said: “Congratulations Brenda Akia for being elected to the UN CEDAW. I thank my team especially Marvin Ikondere for a job well done. Uganda is among 12 elected countries out of 24 Excellent candidates.”

“I have been honored in my career to having successfully campaigned for excellent women candidates that include Justices Julia Sebuntide for ICJ, Solome Bossa ICC and Magreat Tibulya UN Administrative tribunal and now Brenda Akia,” he added.

This is the first time in 40 years, a Ugandan candidate has been elected to the CEDAW.

Twenty four (24) Member States nominated candidates to fill the 12 vacant seats, but one of the members withdrew its candidacy, making it 23 candidates.

From the 23 Member States, 10 countries from Africa contested and three countries won the election, namely Nigeria (137 votes), Uganda (139 votes) and Egypt (126 votes).

The twelve Member States elected are Nigeria, Cuba, Uganda, Egypt, Sri Lanka, Israel, Spain, Estonia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria Trinidad and Tobago as well as Japan.

The Member States which lost the elections are Algeria, Georgia, Germany, Ukraine, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Burundi, Benin, Cyprus, Cote d’ivore and Burkina Faso.

Kungu Al-Mahadi Adam is an experienced Ugandan multimedia Journalist with a background of fact checking and thorough research. He is very passionate about current African affairs particularly Horn of Africa. He...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *